Ratchet & Clank is now LIVE and TOTALLY FREE, even if you downloaded it as part of PS+ in the past!

Jim Ryan, the President and CEO of Sony Interactive Entertainment , just announced on the PlayStation Blog that the Play at Home Initiative is returning this year but instead of one month, it will be four months of celebration!

The Play at Home Initiative launched last April offering up Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection and Journey as FREE games! This year though they are doing things a little different. Instead of one month of content they are offering up four months!

It kicks off in March, going through June, with the following!

Starting March 1, 2021

  • PlayStation and Insomniac Games will make Ratchet & Clank PS4 available for free download for a limited time through PlayStation Store from March 1 at 8pm PST / March 2 4am GMT / 5am CET to March 31, 2021 at 8pm PDT* / April 1 4am BST / 5am CEST. Once you redeem the game, it will be yours to keep. This 2016 PS4 action-adventure hit from Insomniac Games revisits the origin stories of these beloved PlayStation heroes and features a great mix of outrageous combat and comedy.

Starting March 25, 2021

  • Our friends at Funimation (a joint venture of Sony Pictures Entertainment and Aniplex of Japan) are kicking in a very special offer: extended access for new subscribers to Funimation or Wakanim in the countries they are available **. Funimation is an anime-focused subscription service and Wakanim is  Funimation’s European division. While there will be additional details to follow, this offer is only available to our community who sign up for and download the Funimation (in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand) or Wakanim apps (in most of Western and Northern Europe) starting on March 25 for a limited time. 

In these historic times, the team at PlayStation wanted to thank the community by giving something back. These days, we could all use something to look forward to and another reason to stay safely socially distanced, so we are happy to be able to offer a free selection of great games and some entertainment offers. This year, we wanted to go further. So we’ve designed a series of free games and entertainment offers for our PlayStation community to make the next few months a little more fun and enjoyable.

Jim Ryan

Jim promises that that’s just the beginning of what they have in store and will announce more details in the following weeks of free games and special offers.

Ratchet and Clank is an amazing game and a great place to start! Hopefully the following details will be just as great! What would you like to see next? Let us know and be sure to thank PlayStation by tweeting #PlayAtHome

I think we’ve got a great mix of games and entertainment offers lined up, and I hope this news made your day just a little bit brighter. We consider ourselves privileged to bring you this entertainment, and we are very grateful to be a part of your lives. Thanks for playing.

Jim Ryan